PM Narendra Modi Conferred National Bravery Award to 18 Children

Prime Minister Narendra Modi on January 24th, 2018, gave away the National Bravery Award in New Delhi to 18 children selected from across the country.



While three of these were honoured posthumously, eight of these brave kids are from northeastern states.

The recipients, selected from across India, were given a medal, certificate and a cash prize.

They also received financial assistance to complete their schooling.

2018 Category-wise awardee

Bharat Award

Nazia (18-year-old) from Uttar Pradesh

Nazia, who will be honoured with Bharat Award of National Bravery Awards 2017, poses with her mother during a press conference in New Delhi on Thursday.
Image Credit:

Nazia helped Police to stop illegal gambling business.

Sanjay Chopra Award

Karanbeer Singh (17-year-old) from Punjab

Karanbeer Singh, punjab karanbeer singh, bravery award 2018, republuc day bravery award, narendra modi, karanbeer singh bravery award, karanbeer singh demand from modi
Image Credit:

Karanbeer Singh saved 15 children after a vehicle plunged into a drain.

Geeta Chopra Award

Netravati M. Chavan (14-year-old, Posthumous) from Karnataka

तालाब में कूदकर बच्‍चों को बचाने वाली नेत्रावती को मरणोपरांत मिलेगा वीरता पुरस्‍कार
Image Credit:

Netravati M. Chavan lost her life while trying to save two young boys from drowning.


Bapu Gaidhani Award

  1. Betshuwajohn Lyngdoh Peinlang (14-year-old) from Meghalaya
    Image Credit:

    Betshuwajohn Lyngdoh Peinlang saved the life of his three-year-old brother from their burning house. He will also feature in this year’s Republic Day parade. 

  2.  Mamata Dalai (7-year-old) from Odisha

    mamata dalai odisha national bravery award
    Image Credit:

    Mamata fought hard to saved her friend Asanti from the clutches of the crocodile.

  3. Sebastian Vincent (13-year-old) from Kerala

    Image Credit:

    Sebastian Vincent risked his life to save a schoolmate who had fallen on to a rail track.

General National Bravery Awards

  1. Laxmi Yadav – Chhattisgarh

  2. Mansha N – Nagaland

  3. N Shaungpan Konyak – Nagaland

  4. Yoknai – Nagaland

  5. Chingai Wangsa – Nagaland

  6. Samridhi Sharma – Gujarat

  7. Zonunthuanga – Mizoram

  8. Pankaj Somwal – Uttarakhand

  9. Nadaf Ejaj Abdul Rauf – Maharashtra

  10. Lokrakpam Rajeshwari Chanu (posthumous) – Manipur

  11. F Lalchhandama – Mizoram (posthumous)

  12. Pankaj Mahant – Odisha

Background of National Bravery Award:

  • The National Bravery Awards programme gives due recognition to children who distinguish themselves by performing outstanding deeds of bravery and seeks to inspire other children to emulate their example.
  • Indian Council for Child Welfare (ICCW) confers the award each year. The Indian Council for Child Welfare (ICCW), is a premier national voluntary organization in the field of child welfare/development. Established in 1952, the Council is
    engaged in implementing programmes for the benefit of children, particularly from the weaker sections of society, through its State/Union Territory Councils all over the country
  • The National Bravery Award is divided into five categories – Bharat Award, Geeta Chopra Award, Sanjay Chopra Award, Bapu Gaidhani Award, and General National Bravery Awards.


For the complete list of winners visit PIB

News Reference:, ANI News




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s