What is the composition of Parliament of India?

The Constitution of India provides for a bicameral Parliament consisting of the President and two Houses known as the Council of States (Rajya Sabha) and the House of the People (Lok Sabha).

The President is the formal, constitutional head of the Republic of India.

The Lok Sabha (House of the People) is the Lower House of Parliament.

The members are directly elected to the House.

Under the Constitution, the maximum strength of the Lok Sabha can be 552 members. The Constitution provides that up to 530 members would represent territorial constituencies in the states, up to 20 members would represent the Union Territories, and two members would be appointed by the President to represent the Anglo-Indian community if there is inadequate representation of the community.

The Rajya Sabha (Council of States) is the Upper House of Parliament.

The House has a maximum of 250 members, out of which 12 members are nominated by the President for their expertise in specific fields of art, literature, science, and social services.

The remaining 238 members are elected by the members of the legislative bodies from the States and Union Territories.

The Rajya Sabha is a permanent body and unlike the Lok Sabha, it cannot be dissolved at any time.

Previous:What is the Parliament?

Next: What are the various sessions of the parliament conducted during the year?


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s